Why Did I Receive a 1099G Tax Form?

Why did I receive a 1099G tax form from the Department of Labor? Are unemployment insurance benefits taxable?

If you collected or repaid unemployment insurance benefits in 2014, you were mailed a summary of the benefit payments you received. The 1099G form shows the total taxable unemployment compensation issued to you from the State of Idaho for a calendar year.

Yes, unemployment insurance benefits are taxable. Payment information is reported to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and you are required to file a tax return for payments received or repaid.

Sample 1099-G form

I collected or repaid unemployment insurance benefits in 2014 and have not received my 1099G tax form yet. Where is it?

The 1099G was mailed on Jan. 28  to the address you have listed on your unemployment insurance contact information. The post office will return a Form 1099G as undeliverable if you moved and did not update your address. It is your responsibility to make sure the Idaho Department of Labor has the most recent and correct address. If your address has changed, go to labor.idaho.gov/iw and update it, even if you are no longer filing. IMPORTANT: YOUR 1099G WILL INCLUDE YOUR ENTIRE SOCIAL SECUIRTY NUMBER, AS REQUIRED BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE. FAILURE TO UPDATE YOUR MAILING ADDRESS COULD RESULT IN YOUR 1099G GOING TO THE WRONG ADDRESS AND PUT YOUR IDENTITY AT RISK.

How do I request a 1099G if I never received one?

You can access your 1099G online. You can download your 2014 payment information from labor.idaho.gov/iw. All you have to do is select the ‘YearEnd 1099G’ option and print the information. If you need help remembering your PIN, contact us at 332-8942.

Can I change my tax withholdings on my unemployment insurance payments?

Yes. You may choose to have 10 percent withheld for federal taxes. Please contact us at (208) 332-8942 if you would like to change your tax withholdings.

What if I disagree with the amount listed on my 1099G?

Keep in mind that benefits are reported based on the issue date of the payment, not the week ending date(s) that was paid. Before contacting us, verify your payments online at  labor.idaho.gov/iw. Select the ‘Payment Summary’ option and click next to view additional payments. If you still disagree with your 1099G after reviewing your payment summary, please call us at 208-332-8942.

What if I re-paid an overpayment in 2014?

A 1099G was mailed to you and will include any repayments received in 2014, excluding penalties and interest. Penalties and interest are not included because they were not PAID benefits.

How do I request a Form 1099G for prior years?

You cannot view 1099s prior to 2014 online. Call us at 332-8942 and we can provide the information over the telephone to the verified recipient of the benefits. Copies of Form 1099Gs are not available, but we can provide the information that was listed.

What if I did not receive a W-2 from my employer? Can you give me that information? 

We are not allowed to provide employer tax identification numbers. Please contact the IRS at 1-800-829-1040 for help obtaining your W-2. 

What if I have already filed my taxes by the time I received my 1099G form?

We are not authorized to instruct you on how unemployment insurance affects your taxes. Please contact the Idaho State Tax Commission at (208) 334-7660, (800) 972-7660 or the Internal Revenue Service at (800) 829-1040

What if I have other questions about my taxes?

We are not authorized to instruct you on how unemployment insurance affects your taxes. Please contact the Idaho State Tax Commission at (208) 334-7660, (800) 972-7660 or the Internal Revenue Service at (800) 829-1040

I thought I paid into unemployment through taxes already. Why am I being taxed again?

The unemployment insurance benefits program is funded by the employer through quarterly payroll taxes. Your benefits are considered income and therefore are taxable.